Home About The Hall Description Of The Hall

PostHeaderIcon Description Of The Hall

The game of baseball has long welcomed immigrants from its earliest days, when an estimated 30 percent of players claimed Irish heritage. Many of the game’s biggest stars at the turn of the 20th century were Irish immigrants or their descendants, including Michael “King” Kelly, Roger Connor (the home run king before Babe Ruth), Eddie Collins, Big Ed Walsh and NY Giants manager John McGraw.  Today, major league teams regularly sign players born in Latin America, Japan, Canada, and elsewhere.

Shaun Clancy, an amateur baseball historian, created the Irish American Baseball Hall of Fame after learning about the game's rich heritage of players of Irish descent.  This legacy, which dates back to the sport's infancy, has been overshadowed in recent years by other ethnicities. Shaun decided to celebrate his roots and those who helped make the game great by creating a shrine to Irish Americans in baseball in 2008.


Who Is Honored in the Irish American Baseball Hall of Fame?

The “Starting Nine” inductees of the Irish American Baseball Hall of Fame (2008) were: legendary owner-manager Connie Mack, sluggers Mark McGwire and Sean “The Mayor” Casey, reliever Tug McGraw, Yankee announcer John Flaherty, sportswriter Jeff Horrigan, NY Mets groundskeeper Pete Flynn, sports columnist/official scorer Red Foley, and Kevin Costner, star of Field of Dreams andBull Durham.

The 2009 inductees were: Brooklyn and LA Dodgers owner Walter O’Malley, sluggers Steve Garvey and Paul O’Neill, veteran umpire Jim Joyce, revered sportscaster Vin Scully, and Ed Lucas, a blind reporter who has covered the Yankees and Mets for more than 40 years.

The 2010 inductees are: New York Yankees GM Brian Cashman, veteran TV analyst and former player Tim McCarver, longtime New York Mets announcer Bob Murphy, famed statistician and Boston Red Sox executive Bill James, and Mike “King” Kelly, baseball’s first superstar.